How to Lock a Discord Channel

Prevent people from sending messages in a Discord channel.

Locking a channel allows people to view previous messages, but prevents them from sending new ones (within the channel).

To lock a channel, you will first need to navigate to your "Edit Channel" menu by right clicking the channel you wish to lock and pressing the "Edit Channel" button, as pictured:

The edit channel button is highlighted

Next, navigate to the "Permissions" menu by clicking "Permissions" on the left of the newly opened menu.

Enable the "Read Messages" permission, and disable the "Send Messages" permission, like so:

The settings of a locked Discord channel

This channel is now locked. The channel will be locked to any person or role that does not have these permissions for the channel changed.

Recommended

Similar articles we think you might like

Muting a Member of Your Server

Prevent someone from sending messages.

Read More
Syncing Discord Channel Permissions

Saves a lot of time!

Read More
Disabling @everyone in a Discord Server

Too many notifications can be annoying.

Read More